Leadership and Advisory Committees

Direct oversight of the NU SCOR scientific activities is provided by the Internal and External Advisory Committees.   The Committees, along with the Principal Investigators, meet together annually at Northwestern University’s Feinberg School of Medicine to review SCOR activities.   Members of the Internal and External Advisory Committees are leading scientists from several disciplines with complementary expertise in reproductive biology, metabolism, non-human primate models of diabetes and obesity, genetics, epigenetics and hormone action.  

Advisory Committees Chair

J. Larry Jameson, MD, PhD  

Executive Vice President for the Health System, and Dean, Raymond and Ruth Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania



Internal Advisory Committee Members (Northwestern University)

 Serdar E. Bulun, MD

John J. Sciarra Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology and Chair, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology, Feinberg School of Medicine

 Rex L. Chisholm, PhD

Adam and Richard T. Lind Professor of Medical Genetics and Vice Dean Scientific Affairs and Graduate Education, Feinberg School of Medicine

 William L. Lowe, Jr., MD

Professor of Medicine and Vice Dean for Academic Affairs, Feinberg School of Medicine

 Kelly E. Mayo, PhD

Professor of Molecular Biosciences  and Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies, Weinberg College of Arts & Sciences

 Neena Schwartz, PhD

William Deering Professor of Biological Sciences Emerita, Weinberg College of Arts & Sciences


External Advisory Committee Members

  Marisa Bartolomei, PhD

Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology, Professor of Molecular Biosciences, University of Pennsylvania

  Richard N. Bergman, PhD

Firestein Chair of Diabetes Research and Director, Cedars-Sinai Diabetes and Obesity Research Institute, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

  Kevin L. Grove, PhD

Senior Scientist, Oregon National Primate Research Center, and Director, Obese NHP Resource, Oregon Health and Science University

  Richard Watanabe, PhD

Associate Professor, Preventive Medicine and Physiology and Biophysics, Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California